Fall 2021 UFCW Local 8D Scholarship Drawing

Each year Local 8D provides ten (10) $1,000.00 scholarships to college students whose parents are Union members. Five (5) scholarships are awarded to children of Horizon Beverage members and five (5) scholarships are awarded to children of United Liquors members. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, this year’s scholarship drawing will be conducted remotely via Zoom at the membership meeting on October 27.

To be eligible, students must be enrolled in a college program.** If your child’s name is drawn, s/he must produce proof of enrollment to actually receive the award. Proof can be any document that demonstrates that your child is actually enrolled and displays the current year (2021).

If you have an eligible college student, please submit your application by the deadline of Monday, October 18, 2021. Applications received after the deadline will not be entered into the drawing. Applications may be submitted electronically through the Local 8D website at, or by email to or fax to Attn: Teresa (617) 742-2187 (see link to form below). Due to significant mail delays, we will not be accepting applications by mail this year.

We hope to see you on October 27!

**It is the Executive Board’s policy that students may not receive awards more than two drawings in a row. Students who received awards in each of the last two drawings are ineligible to participate in this drawing but may reapply next year.

UFCW Local 8D – Meeting and Scholarship Notice and Form

Congratulations to the 2020 Scholarship Winners!

Every year Local 8D offers scholarships to union members or their immediate family members who want to further their education and demonstrate a commitment to their communities and to UFCW values. Below are this year’s winners. Congratulations to each of these hard-working individuals. We know that they will go far in their education and continue to be valuable members of their community!

  1. Andrew Gnieski
  2. Isabella LaCorcia
  3. Michelle Maas
  4. Tyler Rano
  5. Justin Vine
  1. Nigel Fialho
  2. Daniel Flaherty
  3. Grace Flynn
  4. Lauren Flynn
  5. Thomas Mapstone